Santa Clara County, California

Standardized Emergency Management System (SEMS)
Introductory Course of Instruction

Module A3: SEMS Operating Requirements and Individual Responsibilities

A3.6: General Operating Requirements for SEMS

This section describes several important requirements related to the use of SEMS at any level:

SEMS requires emergency response agencies to use basic principles and components of emergency management including ICS, and Multi-agency or inter-agency coordination.

The five primary functions of Command or Management, Operations, Planning/Intelligence and Administration/Finance must be provided for in all organizations at any SEMS level.

Personnel in a SEMS organization at any of the five levels must be assigned to a designated function within the organization, and at all times have designated supervision.

Personnel assigned within a SEMS organization will safely carry out their assignment for an operational period or until relieved, and will brief their relief as required by agency standard operating procedures.

Next Subtopic Table of Contents Main Page